ESCAS welcomes two new members, both based at the Institute of Political Science at Warsaw University in Poland: Oliwia Piskowska and Piotr Załęski. Welcome! If you want to become a member of ESCAS, please see our membership guidelines here.


ESCAS will hold its 15th Biennial Conference, jointly with the Central Eurasian Studies Society’s Regional Conference, at the American University of Central Asia in Bishkek, on June 29-July 2, 2017.


It is with deep sadness that ESCAS notes the passing of Prof. Zhanylzhan Junussova, a member of our board, a colleague, and a friend. Prof. Junusova died on October 16, 2016 at the age of 65, after a protracted illness.

Prof. Junusova was born in 1951 in Petropavlovsk, Kazakhstan. She received her Diploma from the Kazakh State University in Almaty in 1974 and was awarded the degree of Candidate of Historical Sciences from Moscow State University in 1981. In 1996, she became a Doctor of Political Sciences and a full professor in 1998.

Until her death, she worked as professor at the Academy of Public Administration under the President of the Republic of Kazakhstan. Prof. Junusova published several books and more than seventy articles on topics such as political ledership, public policy, modernization as well as diplomatic activity in both Russian and English languages. Our heartfelt condolences to her family. She will be missed.

John Schoeberlein, ESCAS President (on behalf of the entire ESCAS Board)


The ESCAS Board is pleased to announce the results of the elections of ESCAS Officers that took place on March 1, 2016:

President:  John Schoeberlein
Vice-President:  Beatrice Penati
Secretary: Dina Sharipova

ESCAS Officers are elected by the ESCAS Board from among the Board members, for a two-year term that will be completed with the next ESCAS conference in 2017.  Elections to the ESCAS Board are held in conjunction with the biennial conference, which will be held next in 2017.

We are grateful for the continuing service of other ESCAS Board Members.  While not all Board Members have an Officer title, they all contribute to the leadership that sustains the Society.  Other members of the board are Judith Beyer, John Heathershaw, Svetlana Jacquesson, Zhanylzhan Junussova, and Qakhrahmon Yaqubov.

We also express gratitude for the continuing service of Zifa Auezova in the role of ESCAS Treasurer.  We will be looking for someone to carry this role forward as we very likely relocate the base of ESCAS after decades of being located in the Netherlands.

Finally, we express appreciation to Meruert Abusseitova for her leadership term in the ESCAS Presidency (2013-2015).