President & Board

ESCAS Board Members are elected by members to four-year terms, with the new Board Members starting their term after the biennial conference.  The ESCAS Officers, including the President, are selected by the Board from among its members.

ESCAS Officers 2015 – 2017

Prof. John Schoeberlein, President

Prof. Beatrice Penati, Vice-President

Prof. Dina Sharipova, Secretary


Prof. Dr. Judith Beyer (2013-2017; University of Konstanz, Germany)

Prof. John Heathershaw (2015-2019; University of Exeter, United Kingdom)

Dr. Svetlana Jacquesson (2015-2019; American University of Central Asia, Bishkek, Kyrgyzstan)

Prof. Beatrice Penati (2015-2019; Nazarbayev University, Astana, Kazakhstan)

Prof. John Schoeberlein (2013-2017; Nazarbayev University, Astana, Kazakhstan)

Prof. Dina Sharipova (2015-2019; KIMEP University, Almaty, Kazakhstan)

Dr. Qahramon Yakubov (2013-2017; Institute of History, Tashkent, Uzbekistan)

ESCAS wishes to recognize also the service of the many distinguished scholars who have served on the ESCAS Board in the past.